Cub Scouts is the second section of the Scouting movement, originally started in 1916 for younger brothers who wanted a 'look-in'. In nearly a century, the section has constantly evolved and adapted its programme and methods to meet the changing needs of each generation of young people, and these days admits girls as well as boys. 

Cub Scouts are young people aged between 8 and 10½, who make up the second section of the Scouting family, between Beavers and Scouts. 

The Cub Pack

The Cub Pack of Cub Scouts is organised into Sixes, with each Six named after a colour, with a Sixer and a Seconder in charge.


During their time in the Pack, Cub Scouts will get a chance to try lots of different activities like swimming, music, exploring, computing and collecting. There are a range of badges available which Cub Scouts can wear on their uniforms to show everyone how well they're doing.

Cub Scouts also get to go on Pack holidays, camps and days out and take part in all kinds of outdoor activities.

How do I become a Cub?

If you are interested in becoming a Cub Scout at 6th Rickmansworth, then fill in the group membership application form by clicking 'Join' on the menu.

The Cub Scout Promise:

I promise that I will do my best
To do my duty to God and to the Queen
To help other people 
And to keep the Cub Scout Law.

The Cub Scout Law:

Cub Scouts always do their best 
Think of others before themselves 
And do a good turn every day.

The Cub Scout Motto:

Be Prepared

What badges and awards can Cub Scouts get?

Core badges

Activity Badges

Staged Activity Badges

Challenge Awards