Beaver Scouts are the youngest section of the Scouting family and are usually aged between 6 and 8 years old, although young people can join Beaver Scouts in the three months leading up to their sixth birthday. 

The Beaver Colony

A group of Beaver Scouts is called a Colony, and each Colony is split  up into smaller groups called Lodges.

Beavers have a Promise and Motto, but there is not a Beaver Scout Law. The concepts of the Scout Law are presented to Beavers through games and storytelling.


Beaver Scout activities are based around making things, outdoor activities, singing, playing games, going out on visits, investigating nature, listening to stories, learning how to be safe and most importantly, making new friends.

How do I become a Beaver Scout?

If you are interested in becoming a Beaver Scout at 6th Rickmansworth, then fill in the group membership application form by clicking 'Join' on the menu.

The Beaver Scout Promise

I promise to do my best
To be kind and helpful
And to love God.

The Beaver Scout Motto

Be prepared

What badges and awards can Beaver Scouts get?

Core Badges

Activity Badges

Staged Activity Badges

Challenge Awards